I am currently a bride on a budget trying to plan a very personalized wedding.  Since I love crafting and DIY I could not wait to make the save the date cards.  I figured it would be good practice for doing the invitations later.   To start off I knew that I needed a printer.  Since my fiance and I needed a printer anyways it was a good excuse to invest in one that we could use for invitations.  I got some advice and did my own online investigating.

  1. I was looking for something reasonably priced and the cut off point for my budget was $150.
  2. I needed something that could print on a variety of sizes of paper.
  3. I have had awful experience with HP printers and customer service at work so I wanted to stay away from that brand.  Sorry HP!
  4. I wanted something that would print decent photos in case we decided to incorporate photos into our invites or save the dates.

A friend had recommended the HP Office Jet 6000 line.  She had printed her own invitations and found that it worked well for her, she also likes that she could print on 4 x 6″ size paper.  After reading reviews on amazon.com and cnet.com we decided to go for the Canon Pixma MG5320 which we picked up at Staples for $80.  So far I have been thrilled with it, the detail is great and it doesn’t leave those pesky stripes on what you print.  I have been feeding cardstock through it and it handles it no problem.  The software that it came with is very easy to use.  I have a Mac and my fiance has a PC and we can

I used the free online printables at weddingchicks.com.  Since we are getting married on a farm, love food, and my fiance’s parents preserve food as a hobby we went with the mason jar design.  I went to the local paper shop (www.hollanders.com) and got a variety of sizes of cards and envelopes in the colors I liked, writing the size and price on each one in pencil.

Paper selection

 

Then I printed and ended up printing on 8.5 x 11″ cardstock and trimming to size.  I used the manual tray feed and placed a small x on the upper right hand corner and then fed the same sheet through to print the back side.  I found it was easier and cheaper to print on 8.5 x 11″ and trim it down to 4 x 6″ to get two invite out of each piece of paper.

Trimming to 4 by 6"

 

So I had the card done then I wanted to line the envelopes because I am crazy and think it looks great!  I got some fancy wrapping paper at Hollanders, similar to this.  I made a pattern outlining the envelope and decreasing a half inch on each side and to conserve paper the insert stops just below what is visible.

Envelope Insert

 

I used a bone folder to place the crease.  This was tricky and it took me a couple tries to get the hang of it and watching some youtube videos helped.  I used Elmer’s sticky dots to adhere the insert to envelope.

Supplies

 

Then I practiced my writing, drew some pencil lines, penciled the address and wrote over it with marker, and then erased the pencil with the best eraser ever.  Here’s some pics of the final product:

IMG_1459

 

Final

 

Back Final

 

All I have to do is pick out some cute stamps and send them on their way.

 

Here is a cost breakdown for about 40:

While I think the cost is quite reasonable these were pretty labor intensive.  So unless you really enjoy this stuff you might want to spend more for less work.

 

